Where are the Summit County Clerk of Courts Title Division offices located?

Main Branch
1030 E. Tallmadge Avenue
Akron, OH 44310-3516

North Branch - Northfield Village
Summit Plaza
10333 Northfield Rd, Suite 152
Northfield Village Oh 44067

South Branch - Green
3333 Massillon Rd, Suite 105
Akron, OH 44312

Back to Top

What are the Title Division office hours?

Main Branch is open Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. and Saturday 8:00 a.m. to 12:45 p.m.
North and South Branches are open Monday through Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

Back to Top

Do I have to obtain a Title from my county of residence?

No.  Effective March 4, 2002, the State of Ohio passed the Cross-County Titling law, (S.B. 59).  This allows Ohio residents to obtain a title in any county regardless of where they reside.  The Sales tax is still calculated based on your county of residency.  A State of Ohio I.D. or Driver's License is required.  Your social security number is also required to obtain a title.

Back to Top

I bought a car.  How do I properly transfer the Title?

Never make any alterations or erasures on a Certificate of Title: if this is done, the Title becomes null and void and a replacement title will have to be obtained.  Do not fill in any part of the Title unless it is done in the presence of a Notary Public or other duly authorized officer with power to administer oaths.  All signatures must be notarized.  If two names are to appear on the Title, both signatures are required for all transactions in the State of Ohio.  It is required that a State I.D. or Ohio License be presented to the Title Bureau at the time of transfer.  Your Certificate of Title must be procured within 30 days after the assignment or you will be subject to the late fee of $5.00 which must be paid at the time the title is issued.  Always make a physical inspection of any automobile you buy, checking the Serial Number to see if it corresponds with the Serial Number on your Certificate of Title.  If mileage is not recorded on the back of the Title, a Federal Odometer Statement is required.  This must be completed in front of a deputy clerk or notary.

Back to Top

I bought a boat or motor.  How do I properly transfer the Title?

A Certificate of title is required on all boats 14 feet long or greater and all outboard motors 10 HP or greater.  A canoe or Kayak is exempt.  Before purchasing a boat or motor be sure that the seller has the Certificate of Title.  Never make any alterations or erasures on a Certificate of Title: if this is done, the Title becomes null and void and a replacement title will have to be obtained. Do not fill in any part of the Title unless it is done in the presence of a Notary Public or other duly authorized officer with power to administer oaths.  All signatures must be notarized.  If two names are to appear on the Title, both signatures are required for all transactions in the State of Ohio.  It is required that a State I.D. or Ohio License be presented to the Title Bureau at the time of transfer.  Your Certificate of Title must be procured within 30 days after the assignment or you will be subject to the late fee of $5.00 which must be paid at the time the title is issue.  Always make a physical inspection of any automobile you buy, checking the Serial Number to see if it corresponds with the Serial Number on your Certificate of Title.  If mileage is not recorded on the back of the Title, a Federal Odometer Statement is required.  This must be completed in front of a deputy clerk or notary.  The seller is also required to assign the Ohio Watercraft Registration Card to you.  No registration is required for outboard motors.

Back to Top

I am selling a car.  How do I properly transfer the Title?

Do not execute the assignment on the reverse side of the Certificate on Title until a bona fide sale has been made.  Make certain that the buyer's full name and address is inserted before you sign the assignment.  Initials are not acceptable.  Use full legal name, no "nicknames." The seller must record mileage on the back of the title or provide a Federal Odometer Statement.  This must be completed in front of a deputy clerk or notary.

Back to Top

I am selling a boat or motor.  How do I properly transfer the Title?

Do not execute the assignment on the reverse side of the Certificate of Title until a bona fide sale has been made.  Make certain that the buyer's full name and address is inserted before you sign the assignment.  Initials are not acceptable.  You must have your signature notarized.  If you do not have a Title for your boat or motor and have owned the boat or motor prior to October 10, 1963, The Title Bureau may issue a Title to you based on your registration or sworn statement.

Back to Top

Do I have to have a Title for ATV's and Off-Road Motorcycles?

Effective July 1, 1999 ATV's and Off-Road Motorcycles must be titled before a registration can be issued or renewed.  Only ATV's that are designed for leisure and recreation must be titled.  ATV's that are designed for utility, commercial or garden use are not titled.  Used ATV's or Off-Road Motorcycles must be taken to either a new car dealer or a deputy registers' office for a VIN Inspection.  New ATV's do not require an inspection.  Since this is a new and extensive law, we suggest that you call our office for additional information on what paperwork is required, call at (330) 630-7200

Back to Top

Do I need a Power of Attorney?

No person can sign for you without a Notarized Power of Attorney Form.  This Power of Attorney is attached to our files and becomes a part thereof.

Back to Top

Do I have to pay Sales Tax on a motor vehicle or watercraft purchase?

The Ohio Legislature enacted a Sales Tax Law (effective 5-21-55) on a casual sale of any motor vehicle.  The purchase price must be stated on the back of the title and the vehicle will be subject to 6.50% sales tax if you are a Summit County resident.  If you reside in another county, please call our office for your tax rate.  Effective August 1, 1981, all boats and motors became taxable the same as motor vehicles.

Back to Top

What is a Use Tax?

A 6.50% Use Tax must be paid by a Summit County resident when they purchase a motor vehicle outside of the State of Ohio.  This applies to the purchase of any motor vehicle either for use or storage in Ohio.  If the tax had been paid to another state, at the time of purchase, then the customer must furnish the Title Office with proof and we would only collect the difference if any were due.

Back to Top

What types of payment are accepted for Ohio Sales & Use Tax?

Tax and Title Fees must be paid in CASH, CERTIFIED CHECK,MONEY ORDER, or Credit Card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover, and American Express) to the Clerk of Courts before an application for an automobile title can be accepted.

Back to Top

Can I transfer a Title using the Memorandum Certificate?

You cannot transfer ownership of an automobile with the Memorandum Certificate of Title (white copy).  It is issued only for the purpose of obtaining license plates when the original title is held by the lien holder.  A Memorandum Certificate may be applied for in any county.

Back to Top

I lost my Title.  Can I get a Duplicate Title?

If the original title is lost, stolen or destroyed, you may obtain a Duplicate Certificate of Title.  If, after issuance of the Duplicate, the Original is recovered, the Original must be returned to our office for cancellation.  You can apply for a Duplicate Title in any county.

Back to Top

Can I get a Title through the mail?

All types of titles may be issued by mail.  Call our office for additional information and forms at (330) 630-7200.

Back to Top

Can a minor purchase or sell a motor vehicle?

No minor under the age of eighteen may purchase or sell a motor vehicle without consent of their parent or legal guardian.  The parent or legal guardian must complete a form giving their consent.  Consent form must accompany the Title.

Back to Top

If I have a mortgage on my automobile, how do I get license plates?

If you apply for a loan using your car as collateral, always insist upon getting a Memorandum Certificate of Title with which you can obtain license plates.  Upon satisfaction of your mortgage, you should receive the original Certificate of Title from the bank or finance company, properly stamped "paid" and the lien cancelled by the Clerk of Courts.

Back to Top

Do I have to change my Title, if my name legally changes?

If your name is changed through marriage or court proceedings, the name on your Certificate of Title cannot be changed.  There is no authority in the law to issue a new title in your new name for the same vehicle.  When you sell your vehicle, be sure to sign your name as it appears on the front of the Title or sign your new legal name and fka (formerly known as) the name on the front of the Title.

Back to Top

What do I do if I bought a car out of Ohio that carries an Out-of-State Title or Registration?

If you purchased a vehicle from an Out-of-State Dealer, a bill of sale is required along with the Out-of-State Title or Manufacturer Statement of Origin and Federal Odometer Statement.  If you purchase a car out of the state from a private party, it is necessary that the seller assign his title to you and have it notarized, when required, when sale is transacted.  Be sure that the Notary's Seal is affixed when called for.  If the car is registered in a non-title state, the seller's Certificate of Registration with a Notarized Bill of Sale is required.  If you have a Mortgaged Out of State Title, please contact our office for a form letter to send to you lien holder.  Any vehicle transferred from Out-of-State to an Ohio Title with the exception of a vehicle purchased brand new from a Manufacturer's Statement of Origin, must be physically inspected by an authorized new car dealer in Ohio, any Deputy Registrar or the Summit County Clerk of Courts South Branch Title Office for verification of the VIN.  The inspection form expires after 30 days.  Bring in the inspection form along with the Out-of-State Title to the Title Bureau.  The customer pays the $1.50 inspection fee to the Title Bureau along with any other required fees at the time the Ohio Certificate of Title is issued.  If two names are to appear on the Title, both signatures are required for all transactions in Ohio.

Back to Top

Do I need my Title to renew my license plates?

Effective march 1, 1987, a Title or Memorandum of Title are no longer required for renewal of registration (only the previous registration card is required).

Back to Top

How do I purchase license plates on a leased vehicles from Out-of-State?

If you have a leased vehicle from Out-of-State and need to purchase Ohio license plates, contact the Title Bureau for more information as soon as possible (330) 630-7200.  Do not wait until plates are due!

Back to Top

Do I need a Title for my trailer?

A Certificate of Title is not required on any Utility Trailer weighing less than 4,000 pounds.  Commercial Trailers or Semi-trailers weighing in excess of 4,000 pounds must have a Certificate of Title.  To sell, transfer or mortgage such trailers the Certificate of Title must be presented.

I want to convert my van to a motor home or install a camping unit on my pick up truck.  How do I record the Title?

To convert a van to motor home or after installation of a camping unit on your pick-up truck you must record this "Body Change" with your Clerk of Courts.  Both original titles for the Truck Camper & Pick-up Truck must be presented for this change.

Back to Top

Do I need a Title for a Manufactured Home?

Yes.  The owner of a Mfg. Home is required to obtain a Certificate of Title. All Mfg. Home Titles must have a Tax Approval Stamp from the County Treasurer's Office where the Mfg. Home is located before transfer and then are transferred in the same manner as Motor Vehicles.  The title may be issued in any county.  For additional information contact our office.

Back to Top

In the event of my death, can I designate a beneficiary for my motor vehicle?

This type of transaction is usually used when there is no spouse.  An individual (must be sole owner) who has title to a motor vehicle, boat or motor, may obtain an affidavit from our office to designate a beneficiary or beneficiaries for their vehicle.  The affidavit will require the year, make, serial number (for motor vehicles) or hull/motor identification number (for boats and motors) and the title number.  The individual will also need to provide the beneficiary’s full legal name, social security number, address and date of birth.  The affidavit must be sworn to before a Deputy Clerk or a Notary.  The title and affidavit must be presented to our office and a new title will be issued at a cost of $5.00.

Upon the death of the owner, the beneficiary/beneficiaries must bring a certified copy of the death certificate and the title to our office and apply for a title in their name.  Any liens that were in the owner’s name that have not been paid off, will be transferred to the new title.

Back to Top

What is a Title issued with Rights of Survivorship?

With Rights of Survivorships a vehicle can be titled to two individuals as "Joint Tenants with Rights of Survivorship" (WROS).  While both parties are living both signatures are required.  When one of the parties passes away the survivor must bring the Title and a copy of the decedent's Death Certificate to the Title Office to transfer the Title to their name.

Back to Top

What happens to motor vehicles upon the death of an owner?

When an estate is probated in Summit County, the Certificate of Title is governed by the following:
  • The surviving spouse can take title to 1 or 2 motor vehicles if the combined value of the vehicles is under $40,000.00.  This will be done by an affidavit and an application for title executed (reverse side of title).  Titles and a copy of the death certificate must also be submitted.  Affidavits are available at all three offices.
  • If the assets of the estate are less than $35,000.00 and there is no surviving spouse, an order relieving the estate from administration must be applied for through the Probate Court.  Properly executed Probate paperwork must accompany the Title.
  • Estates larger than $35,000.00 require the appointment of an Executor or Administrator by Probate Court. Properly executed Probate paperwork must accompany the Title.

Back to Top

What happens to boats or motors upon the death of an owner?

When an estate is probated in Summit County, the Certificate of Title is governed by the following:
  • Per ORC. 2106.19, a Surviving Spouse may take one boat and one motor in their name without probate proceedings.  The Surviving Spouse must bring in the Titles and the death certificate.
  • If the assets of the estate are less than $35,000.00 and there is no surviving spouse, an order relieving the estate from administration must be applied for through the Probate Court.  Properly executed Probate paperwork must accompany the Title.
  • Estates larger than $35,000.00 require the appointment of an Executor or Administrator by Probate Court.  Properly executed Probate paperwork must accompany the Title.

Back to Top

What must I do to when I salvage a vehicle?

When you dismantle, destroy or change the character of your car so that it no longer is a complete car, you must surrender your Certificate of Title to the Clerk of Courts for cancellation.  When you sell your car to a Salvage Dealer, you must surrender your Certificate of Title to that dealer with the assignment (on the back of the Title) completed.

Back to Top

How do I convert a Salvage Title to an Original Title?

To convert a Salvage Title to an Original Title, an inspection of the motor vehicle must be made by the State Highway Patrol.  A fee of $50.00 is charged and the application for the inspection must be from a Deputy Registrar's Office.  The Title should be brought to the Clerk of Courts for conversion and the $4.00 Salvage Fee paid.  When the new title is issued it will bear the words "Rebuilt Salvage."

What types of watercraft are required to be titled?

Effective January 1, 2000, Specific watercraft less than 14 feet in length with a permanently affixed mechanical means of propulsion of 10 HP or more will be required to be titled.  This includes Wave Runners, Jet Skies and Jet Boats.  If the watercraft was owned prior to January 1, 2000, no title is required until it is sold, mortgaged or otherwise disposed of. (ORC. 1548.21) Exception, a watercraft less than 14 feet in length with a permanently affixed mechanical means of propulsion of less than 10 HP as determined by the manufacturer's rating is not required to be titled.

Back to Top

Does a boat or motor have to have a Hull Identification Number (HIN)?

Yes.  If the HIN has been removed, a new HIN must be affixed to the boat or motor before a Certificate of Title can be issued.  Application for a new HIN is made thru the Division of Watercraft.  Forms may be obtained at The Title Bureau.

Federal Boating Acts require all boats manufactured after November, 1972 to show a Hull Identification Number (Serial Number) of not less that 12 characters.  If you have a 1973 or newer model boat, compare the HIN with the number on your Title.  If they differ, make a pencil tracing of the number and present tracing and Title to your Title Bureau for correction.

Back to Top

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



e-filing