Summit County Clerk of Courts

Daniel M. Horrigan Biography

Daniel Horrigan was elected Summit County Clerk of Courts in January 2009 and re-elected to a second full term as Clerk in November 2012. Prior to being elected Clerk Dan served four terms as Ward 1 Councilman for the City of Akron.

As Clerk of Courts, Horrigan was elected President of the Ohio Clerk of Courts Association in December 2012. Horrigan has led numerous initiatives to streamline business operations that have led to the savings of valuable tax dollars. He has relocated both Title branches operations to better serve all Title and Passport customers. He also serves on the Ohio Supreme Court Rules of Superintendence Commission and the Ohio Supreme Courtís Task Force on the Funding for Ohio Courts, Summit County Criminal Justice Advisory Board, Summit County Information Technology Board, Summit County Records Commission and the Summit County Board of Revision. He is a member of the Abandoned and Vacant Property Task Force and the Biological Evidence Task Force established by SB 77.

In the community, Dan is a board member of the Akron Urban League. He also volunteers with the North Akron Baseball Association.

As Councilman, Horrigan chaired the Public Utilities Committee and was a senior member of the Planning Budget and Finance and Parks and Recreation Committees. He was a fierce advocate for both the residents and businesses located in Ward 1 of Akron. Horriganís leadership led to instrumental projects such as the Highland Square Development Initiative, two new libraries, various housing initiatives and the Rack 40 Project to benefit the preservation of the Cuyahoga River and the surrounding environment.

In addition to serving as Councilman, Horrigan taught for ten years at St.Vincentís-St. Maryís High School and Stow Munroe Falls High School.

He is credited with originating the AP Economics program at Stow High School.

Dan Horrigan holds two bachelorís degrees- one in Economics from Kent State University and the other in Education from the University of Akron.